//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Week 1: The Challenge

So this was week 1.  Week one of diets are usually my easiest because it only takes a simple change to make a big difference.  I remember a few years ago I signed up for Weight Watchers and my first week I lost 10lbs.  I was so pumped up but when the weight slowed down, so did I.  But this time I was determined that this is not just a weight loss I am looking for.  This time I am looking for a change in attitude and a change in lifestyle.  With this positive outlook I felt as though I would be unstoppable.

Everything went well until Friday evening, that is when I got the call.  One of my oldest and dearest friends was gone.  No explanation could fill the void that I felt.  Even though I knew I would see her again one day there was this knot in the pit of my stomach.  I found myself reaching for something that I had vowed to not use as a crutch.  I searched for comfort food to mask my emotions, something just to numb what I felt.

Although my heart is still broken, I have come to realize something through all this tragedy.  Life goes on.  We sit around and ask why? and how? but life is still going on.  Cars still travel down the interstate, birds still fly, and the sun still shines.  If I am to truly make a change in my life then I must make a change to live life.  I am sitting here reading old emails from my friend and suddenly I find strength in them, not just sadness.  As much as it pains me to admit it, losing someone you love in this life is not an excuse to quit.  No, it is quite the opposite.  This is my reason to rise to the challenge.  I find comfort in the words of a friend who used to tell me how “awesome” we are.  Someone believed in me even though they knew my flaws.

And now my mind drifts back to the book of Romans 5:8 “in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.”  He loved me in spite of my faults and failures.  God knew exactly who He was getting when He saved me and He knows who I am today.  I am imperfect and flawed but yet He still sees the potential.  The challenge is not to change, the challenge is accept my potential.

Week 1:  -8lbs

About pastorshort

I am 26 years old and a pastor at Central Baptist Church in Charleston, WV. I have been preaching for 10 years now and have previous pastor experience.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Week 1: The Challenge

  1. I’m sorry to hear about you friend.

    I found your blog from Tony’s blog. I just started out blogging myself and want to say welcome.

    Time’s like this can be tough and emotional, so use your blog as an outlet instead of eating.

    Posted by A.J. Parrot | June 1, 2011, 7:16 pm

Leave a Reply

